In this article, you can discover:
- Why it’s important to report to the police.
- How fault is determined in the state of Florida.
- The best option for paying medical bills while waiting for a car accident settlement.
Do I Have To Call The Police After Getting Into An Accident In Florida?
While it is not required by law, it is highly recommended that you call the police after a car accident in Florida. Having the police on the scene can help you gather important information, such as the other driver’s insurance information and the details of the accident. While the police report may not be admissible in court, it can still be useful for reference.
What Information Do I Need To Get From The Other Driver At The Scene Of The Accident?
When you are involved in a car accident, it is important to get as much information from the other driver as possible. This includes the driver’s insurance information, such as the carrier’s name and policy number. To ensure that you have accurate information, consider taking a photo of the other driver’s insurance card with your phone or writing down all the information you can. This information will be useful if you file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company.
Who Determines Who Is At Fault In A Florida Car Accident Case?
In a Florida car accident case, the fault is determined by the trier of fact. This could be a judge or a jury, and they will use the admissible evidence to decide. Accident reports generated by law enforcement are not admissible, and the police will not determine who is at fault.
Florida is a comparative fault state, meaning that even if the injured party is partially responsible for the accident, they can still recover damages, but their recovery will be reduced by their percentage of fault.
How Do I Get A Copy Of The Police Report From My Florida Car Accident?
If you need a copy of the police report from your Florida car accident, you can simply call the law enforcement agency that responded to the scene. This could be the sheriff’s department, city police department, or the Florida Highway Patrol. Provide them with the accident details, and they will typically send you a copy of the report within seven to 10 days.
How Do I Pay For My Medical Bills While I’m Still Waiting For My Car Accident Settlement? What Are My Options?
To pay for medical bills while waiting for a car accident settlement in Florida, consider going through personal injury protection coverage, a no-fault coverage everyone must carry. Insurance carriers pay up to $10,000 in medical bills if you receive treatment within 14 days of the accident. If you don’t have insurance, go through your health insurance or seek treatment under a letter of protection from a willing doctor.
After a car accident in Florida, call the police, get the other driver’s information, determine fault, and pay for medical bills to protect yourself and your rights and ensure a successful resolution of your case.
With the guidance of a skilled attorney for Auto Accident Claims, you can have the peace of mind that comes with knowing that we’ll make it look easy. For more information on Auto Accident Claims Law in Florida, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (407) 915-5447 today.
Schedule a FREE Consultation.
Submit your case details swiftly through our contact form for Payne Law’s prompt review and response.
Error: Contact form not found.